Most Americans Don’t Know What Love Is

Most Americans Don’t Know What Love Is
From John Piper:

“Most Americans don’t know what love is. I’ll state a definition that they might agree with, and then I’ll give it a biblical translation. Maybe you would find people who would agree with the definition . . . Love is . . . doing whatever you have to do at whatever cost to yourself (it cost Jesus His life to do this) to make people as happy as they can be forever. Now, the biblical translation of that is this: Love is doing whatever you have to do at whatever cost to yourself to help people have an all-satisfying passion for Jesus forever. Those are synonymous definitions, because Christ is the only source of everlasting joy. If you reject Christ, you don’t have joy forever.
Therefore, the definition of love is . . . doing whatever you do in order to help people cherish Christ above all things, seeing Him and savoring Him above all things. And that becomes massively helpful in what movies you watch, what you eat, what you drink, where you go, how you spend your time. Are people seeing in you and your values, Christ as supremely important? Are you doing things that will cause them to read off of your life, ‘They don’t seem to get the strokes that I get from this, this, and this. They seem to be drawing down their life and their joy from another place.’ That’s what love is going to prompt you to show.”

“I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. . . As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.” – John 15:5,9-11

“So also you have sorrow now, but I will see you again, and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take your joy from you.” – John 16:22

One thought on “Most Americans Don’t Know What Love Is

Leave a Reply

